Tropical Fish Keeping banner

hi there im new!

2K views 32 replies 4 participants last post by  amy11 
#1 ·
hey guys.
my name is amy and im completely new to keeping fish and wanted to find some unbiased advice.
i was bought a fish tank for xmas and cant wait to start the hobby.
just wanted to say a quick hi and how u doing to everyone

#2 ·
Hello Amy and welcome to the forum :wave:

That's a pretty great christmas gift; it's the same way I got started when my bf bought me a 45 gallon hex 4 years ago. Now I've got a 75 gallon, 5 2.5 gallon betta tanks, 1 5 gallon betta tank and a 10 gallon hospital/quarantine tank.

He had no idea what he put in motion LOL.

What size tank did you get?

#3 ·
just a 10 gal. we rent our flat and the only pets theyd allow is fish so thats what my bf got me, i dont think he realises what hes started, its a 10 gal tank but im having massive problems with it trying to get it cycled, ive killed 10 fish and now stuck with what to do

#4 ·
better out here than PM's all the time. lol
offical TFK welcome Amy. :-D
i'm sure someone will tell you something i've no doubt forgotten.

what filter have you got ?

#8 ·
aww now,don't lose heart,i won't even begin to tell you how many fish i killed over
the years,tanks up and tanks down lol surprised i stuck with it at times,
i have a 10glln in the kitchen with guppys :evil: they keep dying,i'm not great at keeping them,
they are so over bred these days,they are not hardy at all,and albino corydora catfish.
then the 4ft in the living room is home to mabuna cichlids,and some tetras as dither fish(all that
means is fish that are happy to swim all over the tank which show the mabuna it's safe to
come out )
my tank looks pretty awful at the moment took it all down to decorate the living room,put most of it back together but don't like the look of it. :-( so sunday will be a busy day lol.

#15 · (Edited)
aww now,don't lose heart,i won't even begin to tell you how many fish i killed over