Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   5 Gallon Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/5-gallon-tank-90411/)

DreamDust03 01-12-2012 09:26 AM

5 Gallon Tank

Hello,

My daughter got a 5 gallon tank for Christmas. We have in it 1 betta, 2 balloon mollies, and 1 juli cory catfish.

I was just wondering if you all think this will work out well? Or have any advice? I have never had a tank before.

We have gravel on the bottom, one fake plant, a structure/decoration ... and have not added any salt.

They all seem find so far except the betta just hides at the top back.

I want these animals to be happy and healthy - thanks in advance for any input!

ktone 01-12-2012 09:33 AM

Feeding fish

I am new to aquariums and I find this forum very useful. I added three brilliant rasbora to my new ten gallon aquarium 5 days ago. I feed them twice a day a few flakes of Nutrifin Max. At each feeding they seem to love it and go right to it. I enjoy watching them. This morning I feed them as usually but there was no reaction whatsoever. It was as if I had not added food. Could I be feeding them too often?

I also noticed that one of them sort of stayed by itself.

Any suggestions or advice would help.

Geomancer 01-12-2012 09:42 AM

Welcome!

Well, there could be a couple issues. 5 gallons is not much water, and the actual amount of water is a little lower due to the gravel, decorations, and the fact that it isn't filled to the brim. (The advertised volume of the tank is calculated from the outside dimensions of the tank)

The Juli Cory Catfish I believe is a schooling fish, which means it's best to keep them in numbers of at least 6 (more is better). A single one won't be happy, and 5g is far too small for the proper number.