Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Cycling stalled please help!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/cycling-stalled-please-help-90336/)

Mark602 01-11-2012 12:43 PM

Cycling stalled please help!!

Hi I'm new to fishkeeping and my tank just wont start to cycle I set up a 15 gallon aquarium 12 weeks ago added 4 fish 1 week later, I now only have one fish left, The water parameters are Ammonia 1.0 nitrites 0 nitrates 0 ph 7.6. Surely I should be getting nitrites by now!! Please help..

afremont 01-11-2012 01:29 PM

You must be doing water changes since your ammonia is only at 1.0ppm, right? How often and how much? What are you adding to your water to treat it? Did the other fish seem to die from ammonia poisoning (panting, red gills, lethargic, sitting on bottom)? What kind of filter do you have?

Mark602 01-11-2012 01:55 PM

Filter is an interpet pf2 power filter, fish just started lying on bottom then swimming round in circles and died they did have red gills, started changing a little water this week about 15% to try and save the last fish , im treating the water with nutrafin tap water conditioner

flight50 01-11-2012 02:25 PM

If the last fish dies off, now would be a good time to do a fishless cycle. Spare the fish and save money at the same time. My 2 Cents.

afremont 01-11-2012 05:40 PM

How are you measuring your ammonia and nitrItes? Something just isn't adding up. If you haven't changed your water much, then the ammonia level should be much higher than 1.0ppm, especially if it killed all your fish. I really suggest getting an API master kit, they're only like $25 mail order. Test tubes are best, strips can be stale.

zof 01-11-2012 07:01 PM