Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Beginner Plants for a Small Brackish Crab Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/beginner-plants-small-brackish-crab-tank-89838/)

Myrtaceae 01-06-2012 02:37 AM

Beginner Plants for a Small Brackish Crab Tank

I'm fairly new to plants in the aquarium, but I really would like to start including them in my tanks. I've done a lot of reading about beginner plants for freshwater tanks, but I'm not sure what to start with in my crab tank:

10gal tank-- about 6 gallons of water, the rest is rocky land for the crabs
15w fluorescent
mildly brackish (~1.005)
2 red claw crabs (male/female)
pH ~8, water is on the hard side
76F

I know my crabs love eating vegetables, so I stuck a few small amazon swords in there as a test (I know it's not brackish but it was the only healthy looking aquatic plant my petsmart had; once I have a better idea of what I want I'll be ordering online). Sure enough, they lifted the plants out of the gravel, clipped the leaves off, and ate the roots. I tried anchoring the plants with heavier stones, and I just woke up a bunch more floating leaves and missing roots.

Can anyone can recommend a good beginner plant that my snip happy herbivores won't destroy? Or at least probably won't destroy?

jeffnsa 01-06-2012 10:06 AM

Try some mangrove stalks, they can handle brackish water and might be tough enough to handle crabs.

Byron 01-06-2012 05:51 PM

Java Fern would likely survive. No fish I know of will eat this plant, over all others, probably because of its bitterness and toughness, so it may work with crabs. And it tolerates slightly brackish water too. We have it in our plant profiles, click the shaded name to pop up the profile.

Byron.

Myrtaceae 01-07-2012 12:23 AM