Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Good beginner shrimp?

18K views 23 replies 5 participants last post by  Nubster 
#1 ·
I am wanting to eventually keep Crystal Red Shrimp, but having never kept any type of shrimp before, I was wondering if I should start with a hardier type? I have kept tropical fish successfully for about three years, but I'm no expert on water quality etc, preferring to keep things simple.

#11 ·
Box filter should be ok...but the inlets might be large enough to suck up baby shrimp. By box filter I assume you mean those clear plastic corner filters that are powered by an airpump. If you mean the HOB filters, they are fine too as long as you have some sort of pre-filter on the intake.

The sponge filters are preferred since the shrimp are safe and they love to crawl all over it and pick at the sponge eating whatever they find.

I prefer substrate, just more natural but that's just my opinion.

Shrimp LOVE plants. Make sure you have some moss too. They really like going through it eating the biofilm and stuff.

Clean water is important and stable conditions even more so.

My tank isn't what I would call low flow but the shrimp seem to be doing just fine.

Here is a shot of one of my girls...

I have a tank of yellow neos too. They are really neat as well.

#12 ·
Thanks Nubster, this is all great information. I do mean the corner box filters, but if a sponge filter is preferred by the shrimp, I'll do that. I need to read about making a sponge filter.

I'm setting up a 48 litre Interpet Fish Pod tank for them. What do you use for substrate? Do you have a photo of your set up?

How much and how often do you do water changes?

#13 · (Edited)
I still do 50% water changes weekly even though I have a low bioload with just shrimp in the tank. Especially in my big tank since I dose ferts.