Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Trying to start marine!!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/trying-start-marine-89554/)

brokenrules69 01-02-2012 11:30 PM

Trying to start marine!!!!

ok well im looking to start my first saltwater aquarium i have no experience in salt but i can buy all the supplies
i want to start a fowlr then add corals and stuff making it a mixed reef if everything survives

im looking to start a 29-55 gallon tank
probably 29 for my first
i have no problem buying all the expensive stuff if necessary :BIGcha-ching:
i just want a better understanding of what every thing does and what i need coming from people with experience

my tanks aren't drilled but i can drill them or just buy a drilled tank:BIGcha-ching: if thats needed for a sump

i was gonna add 1.5lbs of live rock per gal

i was thinking about doing a sump maybe with a refuggerium if u think its necessary but i have never done anything like that so idk if a few canister filters or hob filter will do enough
or like a diy sump/canister blend filter that i am making for my cichlid tank

i am planning on having a protein skimmer even tho i really have no clue of its purpose but any one that i have ever talked to said its uber necessary

i have done some prior research and i would buy the ho light or led or what ever i need
but is it ok to use those lights on a folwr tank or will i produce too much algae

i have plenty of extra fw supplies that i can use for this tank if it will work
like regular flurecent lights i also have these lights tho "AQUALIGHT T5 DUAL LAMP FIXTURE 48" the light is a 10,000k and an actinic this wont support a mixed reef tho right:question:
filters
air pumps..... do i need one of these in a sw tank????