Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Filtration "does it make sense to have two filters" (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/filtration-does-make-sense-have-two-88655/)

PRIMESIX 12-23-2011 11:16 AM

Filtration "does it make sense to have two filters"
 
Hello,

I just had a quick question, I have a 26 gallon fairly heavily planted aquarium as you can see by my pic. My problem is I dont think my tank is getting enough water movement and filtration, my current filter that hangs on the back only filters the bare minimum. Does it make sense to have an additional filter hanging off the opposite side of the aquarium to help with water movement and filtration. What are your thoughts?:shock:

By the way, the tank by my name is the picure i'm referring to. Thanks.

DKRST 12-23-2011 11:56 AM

Can you give more info on the current filter? What brand/model?

If you have a planted tank, the only time you "need" a filter is if you have an overly large bioload. A filter just adds extra capacity to the existing microbial capacity of tank to deal with fish waste. Ideally, a planted tank does best with minimal circulation to keep as much CO2 as possible in the tank. My rule-of-thumb is if I don't get a surface scum forming, the water parameters are good, and the fish are behaving normally (enough O2), then I have enough circulation

PRIMESIX 12-23-2011 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DKRST (Post 928531)
Can you give more info on the current filter? What brand/model?

If you have a planted tank, the only time you "need" a filter is if you have an overly large bioload. A filter just adds extra capacity to the existing microbial capacity of tank to deal with fish waste. Ideally, a planted tank does best with minimal circulation to keep as much CO2 as possible in the tank. My rule-of-thumb is if I don't get a surface scum forming, the water parameters are good, and the fish are behaving normally (enough O2), then I have enough circulation

Hi, Thank you for your input, I have an Aqueon filter that filter approx 150 GPH. However, to touch base with something that you had mentioned in your post, I do get a little white cloudy water that forms on the top of the tank. If I fill my tank higher with water the filter usuallt stirs it up pretty good and it goes away until the water lever drops. Any ideas?

Byron 12-23-2011 08:15 PM

I wouldn't worry about the protein scum that sometimes forms on the surface. I have it slightly in some tanks, never in others, and a couple times very thickly (due to organics issues). Slight surface disturbance will usually keep it at bay. And there are surface skimmer units for some filters, canister anyway; I removed mine because small fish kept getting caught, and if I put any screen over them the floating plants blocked them. But it is one option. The protein scum is not a problem unless it gets so thick it prevent the gas exchange.

To the filter question, I agree with DKRST. As long as there is a slight flow/current through out the tank, you are fine.

Byron.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2