Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   new aquaclear 110 (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/new-aquaclear-110-a-88394/)

rjwwrx 12-19-2011 04:32 PM

new aquaclear 110
 
I just bought an aquaclear 110 HOB to replace the aqueon 55/75 for my 55 gallon tank. The aqueon was getting louder and louder every day, and I wasn't really happy that I was restricted to using the filter cartridges, or modifying the filter to use my own media.

The question I have is how can I effectively establish the new filter with my tank? Should I run both filters on my tank for several weeks? I have a small bag of fluval media that has been in the aqueon for about 1 week, but I don't think this is long enough to seed the new filter with. I did decide to use some cut-to-fit bulk filter pad insted of the filter cartridges, and this has been running for about 2 weeks. Could I cut a peice of this to use in the aquaclear? Just really unsure of how best to get the filter changed out without causing issues for my tank.

Please let me know your experience with changing filters. Thanks.

Davefish24 12-19-2011 04:59 PM

you should run the aqueon with the aquaclear. As for the filter floss yes.:-D

rjwwrx 12-19-2011 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Davefish24 (Post 925476)
you should run the aqueon with the aquaclear. As for the filter floss yes.:-D

Could you elaborate on your response a little for me? Are you suggesting that I run the aqueon with the aquaclear indefinitely? This is not an option as I no longer want the noise issues with the aqueon filter.
I plan on running filter floss with the aquaclear, but my question was wether using some 2 week old filter floss from the aqueon would be helpful to seed the new filter and possibly not need to run both filters at the same time. Does this help clarify my question?

AbbeysDad 12-19-2011 08:23 PM

If you think about it, removing the aqueon filter altogether is no different than if you were to replace the aqueon filter cartridge - just remove the filter and setup the Aquaclear. If you use some/all of the filter media in the Aquaclear that's fine, but even if you didn't, it wouldn't make a major difference.
As I recall, your tank may yet to be cycled, so you'll need to continue to monitor closely whatever you do.

AD

rjwwrx 12-19-2011 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AbbeysDad (Post 925695)
If you think about it, removing the aqueon filter altogether is no different than if you were to replace the aqueon filter cartridge - just remove the filter and setup the Aquaclear. If you use some/all of the filter media in the Aquaclear that's fine, but even if you didn't, it wouldn't make a major difference.
As I recall, your tank may yet to be cycled, so you'll need to continue to monitor closely whatever you do.

AD

My tank is cycled so that shouldn't present any issues for me. Must be remembering someone else :-)

From what I understand about the aqueon filter, not all of the beneficial bacteria is housed on the filter cartridge alone. The "bio-holster" plastic thing it fits into also holds some so I just wanted to be cautious and not cause any issues.

I would prefer to just remove the aqueon and setup the aquaclear so I'm glad that is a viable option. Appreciate the feedback!

AbbeysDad 12-20-2011 12:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rjwwrx (Post 925737)
My tank is cycled so that shouldn't present any issues for me. Must be remembering someone else :-)

From what I understand about the aqueon filter, not all of the beneficial bacteria is housed on the filter cartridge alone. The "bio-holster" plastic thing it fits into also holds some so I just wanted to be cautious and not cause any issues.

I would prefer to just remove the aqueon and setup the aquaclear so I'm glad that is a viable option. Appreciate the feedback!

You likely have a much larger bacteria colony in your substrate, but if it makes you feel better, you could hang the plastic in your tank for a while :-)

rjwwrx 12-21-2011 03:18 PM

So I'm happy to report back that I really like the new filter. It's much more quiet than the aqueon, and I already have less particles and clearer water. I was pleasantly surprised by how large the media chamber is. I wasn't expecting the filter sponge to be as gigantic as it is.

Fishguy2727 12-21-2011 10:30 PM

Effectively all the bacteria are in the filter, not spread out evenly throughout the tank. The filter provides the most oxygen and food because of the extra flow there, making it the ideal habitat for the bacteria. This means the bacteria will grow there. This does not mean the rest of the tank is sterile by any means, just that unless you are running an UGF effectively all the bacteria are in the filter.

You have two options. One is to run both for a couple weeks then remove the Aqueon. The other is to take the media from the Aqueon and put it in the AC110 for 2-4 weeks.

Nubster 12-21-2011 11:16 PM

Not sure I buy that. Why would bacteria not be in the tank, in the substrate, on the hardscape, covering the plants? I don't mean just a little, but a lot. I mean the same food source is in the tank and if you have proper flow in the tank then that food will be spread out to the bacteria in the tank. There are plenty of folks running filterless with only powerheads for water movement. Where is the bacteria in their tanks?

Fishguy2727 12-21-2011 11:26 PM

In those situations obviously the bacteria are not in the filter since there isn't one. In those setups the bacteria will live throughout the tank.

Bacteria need certain things, oxygen and food are two of the most important. These are highest in the filters because of the flow. Bacteria are not going to simply grow where they CAN, they are going to grow where it is best. Think about it in terms of humans. We don't simply spread out evenly and live where we can, we concentrate ourselves around what we need, frequently water. Of course this doesn't mean that there are not people living high up on mountains or in remote cold areas, it just means that there are very few people in those places.

I have seen many situations demonstrate this very well. On multiple occasions I have moved the fish and filters from one setup to another at the same time. No water, decor, or anything else was moved, just the fish and the filters. The new setups did not experience any mini- or re-cycle at all because effectively all the bacteria were in the filters.

Obviously this isn't 100% in every tank. Some tanks barely have enough filtration or biomedia, so there will be more bacteria throughout the tank in setups like that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2