Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   10 gallon standard hood question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/10-gallon-standard-hood-question-87832/)

Clone54 12-11-2011 05:11 PM

10 gallon standard hood question

I've had great success over the years with freshwater aquariums with hilariously designed tanks full of entertaining decorations and fish but I really want to convert this 10 gallon tank I have and do something I've never done before and have a planted tank.

I know questions about lighting are really common but what I can't find the answer to is about the 'standard' style hood that I have for my aquarium. There is a fluorescent light bulb in there and the sticker on the back says that there is a limit of 17 watts. I think it is an 18" bulb.

My question is. If I want to keep this set-up and only change the bulb to something advertised as 'for plants' am I out of luck in creating any sort of medium or high intensity lighting in the tank?

I really like the simplicity of this hood and would rather not have a fixture I've seen for sale online with the legs and open top.

Thanks

EDIT:
by standard hood i meant something very very similar to this

Quantum 12-11-2011 06:52 PM