Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Danios and Discus (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/danios-discus-868/)

jsm11482 10-15-2006 10:34 AM

Danios and Discus
 
Hi, if I was to move my danios to my 90gal (in which I will be adding discus in a month or two), I assume the danios would eventually be eaten. Is this correct? They are very fast swimmers so maybe they would be ok?

Amphitrite 10-15-2006 11:05 AM

One problem with mixing the two is temperature.

While discus need temps of around 30 degrees, zebra danios thrive in temps of 18 - 24 degrees.

jsm11482 10-15-2006 11:08 AM

Good point.

crazie.eddie 10-15-2006 11:55 AM

When I had danios, I kept my tanks at 82° F, which are the same temps I now keep with the discus.

The danios are very fast swimmers and discus have very small mouths, so for sure, there is no chance of the danios getting eaten. The only thing is, being that danios are fast swimmers and often dart for no reason, it may make the discus very nervous, since they see fast darting fish as a sign of danger is nearby.

jsm11482 10-15-2006 11:57 AM

Ineresting. So the reason I am asking is because I have a 15gal upstairs and a 90gal in the living room. I am cycling the 90gal and will add discus in a month or two. I would like to combine the tanks so I only have to keep one up, then I can use the second for a hospital or breeding tank. What do you think, should I move the danios?

Lupin 10-15-2006 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsm11482
What do you think, should I move the danios?

Nope. Eddie pointed out the sense of security of discus which means we do not allow danios and discus under one roof.:)

jsm11482 10-15-2006 07:41 PM

Fair enough, thanks for the info!

jsm11482 10-20-2006 11:48 AM

Ok, so since I can't find ammonia anywhere, should I move my danios to the 90gal until it cycles, then move them back? Otherwise how will I get this tank to cycle???

Lupin 10-20-2006 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsm11482
Ok, so since I can't find ammonia anywhere, should I move my danios to the 90gal until it cycles, then move them back? Otherwise how will I get this tank to cycle???

You can use your danios to cycle the tank.:)

jsm11482 10-20-2006 11:59 AM

The PH is different between the two tanks, will this be ok?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2