Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Cabomba vs. Apple Snail (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/cabomba-vs-apple-snail-86663/)

flowerslegacy 11-25-2011 12:23 PM

Cabomba vs. Apple Snail

I have about 6 stems of Cabomba in my tall 25 gal and they're all growing wonderfully. I've had them for about a 2 months. However, my Apple Snail has started uprooting them. He tries to climb them and since he's big, and they're still fragile, they pop up out of the substrate and float to the top. Any ideas on how to anchor them? I've had to re-plant them 3 times now. I did a search and didn't come up with any ideas. Currently they're separate stems, so should I tie them together and then tie them onto a decoration? Any advice would be great. I'm new to plants . . .

Byron 11-27-2011 12:39 PM

Cabomba looks nicer in small groups, say 3 or 4 stems. Try burying more of the stem in the substrate, maybe 3-4 inches; in this case, leave the leaves on the stem, it will help to hold them down. Another trick is to use small (2-3 inch) pebbles or stones around the stem.

redchigh 11-29-2011 09:34 AM

If you have a soft substrate, you can pin the stem to the substrate with a rock.(place a rock on top of the stem)

Be careful burying the stem..If you crush it or it rots, the dead part can creep all the way up the stem and kill it.

Ogre44 11-29-2011 09:52 AM

My LFS has little lead strips that are used for weighing down plants.
For my Cabomba I made little bundles of 5/6 stems and wrapped the strip lightly around them, then stuck the ends of the bundles in the gravel.

Haven't tried them vs a snail though...

flowerslegacy 11-29-2011 01:35 PM

Thank you everyone!! I'm off to bundle them together and weigh them down. I appreciate it!