Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Help with getting the right type of fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/help-getting-right-type-fish-85807/)

mothman 11-12-2011 01:30 AM

Help with getting the right type of fish

Hello everyone Iím new to this forum and I need a bit of help. I just bought a 55 gallon fish tank and I am lost as to what kind of fish I should get. I have a filter, heater, gravel and tank cover with the lights. I have some experience with gold fish but I would like to have more colorful fish and maybe some coral, any help would be appreciated.

GwenInNM 11-12-2011 07:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mothman (Post 891376)
Hello everyone Iím new to this forum and I need a bit of help. I just bought a 55 gallon fish tank and I am lost as to what kind of fish I should get. I have a filter, heater, gravel and tank cover with the lights. I have some experience with gold fish but I would like to have more colorful fish and maybe some coral, any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to the site! There are lots of things you'll have to answer for people to be able to help you here. Has your tank been cycled? Do you want a freshwater or saltwater tank? What is your ph level, and what level of commitment are you prepared to make? If you get fish considered more difficult to keep, are you prepared to meet water requirements etc? Goldfish are a very easy fish. If your tank isn't cycled, you should consider doing fishless cycling first, while you're doing your research on fish.