Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Fish Breeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/)
-   -   Is my molly pregnant? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/my-molly-pregnant-85674/)

MckinneyFish 11-10-2011 08:56 AM

Is my molly pregnant?

4 Attachment(s)
I am new to fishkeeping and I got a few mollies about a month ago to cycle my tank. It looks like one is pregnant but I am not sure, does she look it to you? If so, about how far along does she look and should I move her to a breeding net now, or wait?

-Sorry for the pictures, this is my most active fish and it is near impossible to get a picture.

TwilightGuy 11-10-2011 04:34 PM

Yea, I'd say she's very pregnant, based on the squaring off of her belly. I would isolate her right away, she could go any time. Sometime even moving to a new tank will trigger delivery but that's not necessarily a good thing. Looks like lots of good vegetation for the fry to hide in, so possibly keep her where she is and move the other fish, if it's not a lot of trouble. Good luck, it's interesting to watch.

MckinneyFish 11-11-2011 01:28 PM

It is weird...
She has looked like this for a couple weeks now and I put her in the breeding net last night, now all of a sudden today she looks much smaller but I see no sign of her having given birth...unless she had a small amount of babies and ate them all, I have no idea what hapened. I am not home all the time so I couldn't monitor her.

bucaday 11-11-2011 04:23 PM

Were your molly already big when you removed her from the tank?

MckinneyFish 11-11-2011 04:31 PM

Yep, she looked like she was about to explode when I moved her.

TwilightGuy 11-14-2011 06:21 PM

Any news yet? Can you post a current photo of her?

Groovysunflowers 11-15-2011 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MckinneyFish (Post 890752)
It is weird...