Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Platy and Dolmaiton Moly not eating (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/platy-dolmaiton-moly-not-eating-85659/)

mydjp 11-09-2011 11:14 PM

Platy and Dolmaiton Moly not eating

I am new to fish keeping and after several Bettas, decided to get two "less delicate" fish. I have a 5 galon tank with simple filter and heater. Store suggested red platy to go with a dalmation molly that I liked. They said fine as tank mates, both livebearers and suggested I get both females. I had the water checked and got fish a week ago and they have not eaten yet! I have done one partial water change to pick up the uneaten food, and used Prime as water condidtioner. Fisth hide when I go near the tank to feed them. I finally started just leaving a flake or two but noticed that they would eventually sink uneaten. I tired betta bites and then got the exact food the store used but still they will not eat. :cry: I was told to try putting some aquarium salt in and that did seem to make both fish more active. if no one is near the tank, they seem to swim around and look well but not eating has to be a problem.
After reading some about these two different types of fish, I am concerned that they may not be good tank mates even though they are both females. I am not trying to breed but just keep the fish alive and happy. I have allowed a place of alge to grow in tank for healthy snack for fish but it doesn't look like they are eating it. I have an octagonal shaped tank and a background of fish taped to back side so I wonder if as relections distracting?

Any suggestions? My main goal here is happy, healthy pets!:roll:

TwilightGuy 11-10-2011 04:56 PM