Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Baby Guppy and Snail Issue - Amateur :) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/baby-guppy-snail-issue-amateur-85523/)

jsilva13 11-07-2011 09:34 PM

Baby Guppy and Snail Issue - Amateur :)

Let me start by saying...I am no expert at fishtanks and fish. I am barely beginning to learn. I have set up a 125 gallon fish tank. It has guppies, yellow pleco (2), and other tropical community fish. (I have a 6 year old and I stick with $1 fish so they are easily replaceable).

I bought a live plant (which promply died) and it "gifted" my tank with snails. tons and tons and tons of little ugly black snails. I have been trying to pull them out, but it's getting old. I also just had my two yellow pleco's give birth to babies and also the guppies have also given birth. Honestly, I didn't think this woud happen so I was not prepared. The babies are doing fine without having to be segregated.

Here's my problem:
1. How do I control my snail population without harming the babies in the tank.
2. I purchased a baby fish floating tank but it will be a task and a half to catch all the babies - already spent hours...apparently they are smarter and faster than me :/
3. I tried putting a piece of lettuce in a cup and sinking it to the bottom...i hardly caught any snails, but many of the baby pleco's liked to be in the cup.......so fail.

Here's what I've been told by petsmart:
1. A clown loach is good but could end up eating the baby fish
2. I REFUSE to use chemicals and I don't know about using aquarium salt (that scares me and I was told it could still be ineffective)
3. My tank has fish that won't get very big and a clown loach grows rapidly, it could end up turning on the small fish