Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Switch to Planted or No? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/switch-planted-no-84772/)

TurnerD 10-29-2011 02:30 PM

Switch to Planted or No?

Hey Everyone, I am new to the fish keeping thing and monday i started the tank the lady at the store told me to come back and put fish in there tuesday. I had no knowledge of the fish tank cycle and feel really bad not doing enough research. But anyway I was told that a planted aquarium can be great and looks nice while also making a happier nicer environment for the fish.

I have a 10 gallon tank currently with plastic flora and a fake little coral cove. The gravel is the typical stuff you would get in the 5 lb. bags and the tank came with 2 15W incandescent lights.

I know i probably would have to change the gravel. Is this true if so what should I look at getting and how much?

Do i need to amp up my lighting and get a plug that automatically puts the lights on?

What else would i possibly need? I really want to treat these fish right and I feel like i'm doing a horrible job :-?, but i am trying and researching what seems like all the time. Any input would be really appreciated thank you! :-P

brownmane 10-29-2011 03:10 PM

Don't panic. Most important thing to do right now is to keep up with water changes to help your fish get through the cycle. An API test kit (about $35.00 CDN) will help you to monitor the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels. Right now you need to watch your ammonia and nitrite levels. To fully cycle a tank takes 6-8 weeks. With plants, they help to shorten the time.