Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   Please Critique My Feeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/please-critique-my-feeding-84231/)

SomeDudeAtHome 10-21-2011 06:13 PM

Please Critique My Feeding

So I have 7 Salt and pepper cories in a 5 gallon. I feed a mixture of frozen blood worms, brine shrimp, crushed tropical fish flakes, crushed veggie flakes and the occasional algae wafer at night. I obviously don't feed all of them at the same time but always do brine shrimp or blood worms mixed with one of the two flakes. I put them in a little measuring cup like the kind you get with cough medicine and wait for it all to drop to the bottom so it goes straight down when I put it in. Is there anything I should be doing different or might be forgetting? This is my first time having cories so I don't want to make a mistake that could cost lives.

Boredomb 10-21-2011 06:20 PM

Umm well the only thing I can say is I wouldn't feed the bloodworms and brine shrimp more then a couple times a week. Brine shrimp have no nutrition value and the bloodworms are high in proteins. Most people feed these as "treats" or more often to help with breeding. I thing I have saw this may be incorrect through.

zof 10-21-2011 06:41 PM

Yup boredomb is right there leave the worms and shrimp as treats, the best I can really critique you on is not to over feed, you are way over stocked for a 5 gallon tank so you need to make sure not to create to heavy of a bio load by over feeding. Also I would just feed the mixture of flakes or the algae wafer but not both, you will be surprised and how little food fish actually need.

Also look at getting a bigger tank, 7 corys in a 5 gallon is very cramped.

SomeDudeAtHome 10-21-2011 07:32 PM

Alright thanks guys I will only do the bloodworms every once in a while.