Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Is water changing as easy as it seems?

4K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  AbbeysDad 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!

So, I know this is a silly question (I warned y'all!) but whenever I take the hood off of my fish tank to change the water, all my black skirt tetras turn gray (that's what they do when they're stressed) and school. It would be cute, if I didn't know that it's possible to kill a fish by stressing it out (right????). It may have something to do with the fact that I only have a 10 gallon tank, so they can see me scooping the water out and stuff.

So... Is there a way to change the water without stressing them out?

Also... I only have 3 of the tetras and a snail in there right now. How often should I be changing the water?

Finally... I'm eventually going to get 3 more tetras for a total of 6. How often then?

Sorry for the three-in-one thing, but I figure I might as well get my bandwidth's worth! :-D

#2 ·
I'm a newbie so my advice my not be that great...But, i'm doing a fish in cycle with a goldfish right now on a tank thats way too small for it...so ALOT of water changes

I've found that the extra air-tube i have laying around works well as a sort of siphon to slowly remove water from my tank...the fish barely notices the extra tube and its slow enough not to stress it...i think a 10 gallon tank is small enough to use this method

#3 ·

You should get a test kit to get an idea of at what point you nitrates levels get above 15ppm. Most here proabably do water changes every week, 30-50%, because clean water will keep your fish healthy, and free of disease. A small syphon is all you need ($10 - approximately) at a fish store, to make your cleaning do what it needs to, which is to clean the substrate, gravel or to hover over sand, and to take out water.

Gwen

#4 ·