Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Help with understanding co2? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/help-understanding-co2-83856/)

PewPewPew 10-17-2011 06:03 PM

Help with understanding co2?

Hey everyone,

I recently got a 3 gallon acryllic fish tank from my roommate and have made it a plant-only tank, with one nerite and at least one adult MTS.

I had been considering getting a co2 system for my 5 gallon planted betta tank, but worried about my fish just in case something went wrong, especially since I'm brand new to it.

This is it:

co2 system: Hagen Plant Grow Natural System with CO2 | eBay

Now that I have a (rather small) tank that has only plants in it (save the snails, which I still care about but...less..), I was reconsidering the co2 idea for it.

But I need help! I understand that co2 will help my plants and encourage growth, but the cons are fuzzy for me. I don't understand what can happen that may cause problems, how to fix any problems that can come up, and, considering I wouldnt go cansiter for the co2 (I would prefer to stay natural, as I live in a dorm and cant have that kind of co2 here).

Can someone please explain the gist of co2 in simple terms, so that I can better comprehend? Theres so much info out there, but its muddled and confusing.

Also, would I be able to use this system in my type of tank? I think there is a plate that gets suctioned to the wall of the tank, but the tank is circular/cylindrical, so would it work?