Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Beard Algea or Green Hair??

2K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  flowerslegacy 
#1 ·
I read through some threads before posting. I'm new to live plants but have set up three new tanks with live plants. All are doing pretty well. However, one tank has gone insane with algea. I can't differentiate if it's Beard or Green Hair or maybe both. I also don't know how to control it, with the exception of buying a new algea eater or shrimp, which I really don't want to do. This tank has a betta and I prefer to avoid any carnage. I just removed some of my wisteria, which was dead and wrapped up in this hairy stuff. Any help would be appreciated. Sorry the second pic is so dark.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
It doesn't look like black aglae to me. Maybe hair aglae I don't know though tough to tell in the pics.
How long are the lights on the tank on? What kind of lights are they? Do you use any fertilzers at all in the tank? Is the tank getting direct sun light?

#3 ·
Hi Boredomb, thanks for the response. My tank is in the living room, on the opposite wall from windows, and receives natural diffused light during the day. However, the hood darkens it significantly, so I use a 8,000k 15W flourescent tank hood which is on approx 9 hrs/day. I also use Flourish, but only once a week after my water change.

#4 ·
What size is your tank? (Sorry meant to ask that earlier) Also what kind of light bulb is it (brand) the best kind to use is one that is a daylight bulb that's between 6000k - 7000k or a full spectrum light. Sunlight can play a role in the algae problem. (Which I am working out in must tank now) but if it is across the room from the window I don't think that is going to be a problem. Which leads me back to thinking you hood light. Another thing when you add your fertilizer are doing 24hrs after the water change? If you add it the same day the dechlorinater (spelling? Water conditioner) will neutralize some of the fertilizer.