Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Where can I get the best deal on Aquarium decor? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/where-can-i-get-best-deal-83370/)

dormfish 10-11-2011 08:29 PM

Where can I get the best deal on Aquarium decor?

I'm a college student on a budget, but my tank is so dull. Where can I get some cheap decor for my tank?

Mikaila31 10-12-2011 12:25 AM

well I get most mine off the ground these days... depends what your looking for I guess;-).

DKRST 10-12-2011 07:59 AM

If you have a good light and the right fish (non plant-eating), I'd recommend live plants. They are usually much less expensive than plastic plants and they replicate over time, meaning you don't have to buy many plants at first to eventually have a tankful. May need to factor in the cost of liquid fertilizer, but it's not bad (or you can "dry dose" much cheaper). You can pick up plants on the forum at fair prices.

aunt kymmie 10-12-2011 10:01 AM

I picked up my Malaysian driftwood off of craigslist for a mere fraction of its typical price.

zof 10-12-2011 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DKRST (Post 859208)
If you have a good light and the right fish (non plant-eating), I'd recommend live plants. They are usually much less expensive than plastic plants and they replicate over time, meaning you don't have to buy many plants at first to eventually have a tankful. May need to factor in the cost of liquid fertilizer, but it's not bad (or you can "dry dose" much cheaper). You can pick up plants on the forum at fair prices.

Plus you can sell the extra plants to other people with tanks to make some extra cash ;-)

k19smith 10-12-2011 06:16 PM