Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New Tank Situation (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tank-situation-82207/)

jpmarini3 09-28-2011 07:29 AM

New Tank Situation
 
Hi all,
Just set up a 55 G tank, with a new filter, gravel, everything. No fish in it yet. It has been running (with one 30% water change) for about 2 weeks. I have not started to add ammonia or anything for a fishless cycle yet. I was wondering if I could get around it...
I have a 35 G tank in good condition, which has an aquaclear filter that's been running on it for about a year...I figure this is loaded with the bacteria I need...can I throw this filter onto the 55 G? (I will eventually have both filters on the 55.) Can the 55 be cycled within a week or so with this on it?

In the meantime, I would need something to replace the old filter on the 35...If I throw the new filter on it I'm afraid I would get an ammonia spike...however there are only 3 fish in the 35 right now.
Any advice is appreciated. Thanks

JP

Santaclaws 09-28-2011 08:12 AM

Yes you can seed your new tank with your old filter the aquaclear has a sponge right I would also take the sponge and squeeze some of the bacteria in to the tank to start it on your gravel. When you get a new filter for your 35 you should be ok there will be lots of bacteria still in your gravel bed. With the old filter on the 55 it should cycle in 48 to 36 hrs. Hope this helps Pat

AbbeysDad 09-28-2011 09:07 AM

Using the AC filter from the other tank is fine, but remember that there is no 'cycle' until there is an ammonia source in the new tank. Also, with a tank that size AND a bio-seed, as I discovered, an ammonia spike is not likely - just remember when you add fish and filter to begin weekly water changes right away (even if it 'seems' like you could hold of a couple of weeks).
Good luck.

AD

Byron 09-28-2011 11:45 AM

Agree with AD. Put the filter (complete) on the new tank, and put a couple fish in it (all 3 from the 35g will work in a 55g).

I often read about "squeezing" filters into a new tank, but this is not advisable. Bacteria colonize surfaces, they only adhere to solid surfaces via the biofilm, and being sticky they adhere well. All you will get by squeezing filter pads is dirty water.

You can read more on all the above points in this article:
http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...quarium-74891/

jpmarini3 09-28-2011 10:04 PM

Thanks everyone. Byron you are saying put the aquaclear (bacteria loaded filter), new filter( a bio wheel 280), and add the 3 fish to the 55 at same time? The 3 fish are a krib, pictus, and flying fox.

So I would have the two filters (one old, one new) in the 55. I am not continuing the 35 G, sorry for any confusion.

I was not planning on squeezing the sponge into the 55. I figured letting it run through would be enough.

Byron 09-29-2011 11:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpmarini3 (Post 844350)
Thanks everyone. Byron you are saying put the aquaclear (bacteria loaded filter), new filter( a bio wheel 280), and add the 3 fish to the 55 at same time? The 3 fish are a krib, pictus, and flying fox.

So I would have the two filters (one old, one new) in the 55. I am not continuing the 35 G, sorry for any confusion.

I was not planning on squeezing the sponge into the 55. I figured letting it run through would be enough.

Yes on the filters. Do not rinse the existing filter, just move it over intact. Any wood, rock, decor in the existing 35g can also be moved over unwashed and bacteria will be on that too. Make sure the new tank is dechlorinated first. What I do is when the substrate is in, I fill the tank and add dechlorinator. Then move over the filter, decor, plants, whatever. Provided the parameters (hardness, pH and temp) are roughly the same, fish can be netted into the new tank after the afore-mentioned.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2