Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   start smart instant cycle (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/start-smart-instant-cycle-81170/)

smit3183 09-16-2011 04:54 PM

start smart instant cycle
 
Put this in my 55 freshwater September 9th,got 1.0 amm. 2.0 nitrate, and 10 nitrate readings on September 11th,the readings have been the same since. What should i do? This was suppose to cycle tank within 48hrs. It's obviously trying to work but not cycled. Should i do a water change even though i was told not to because it would remove the bacteria. I'm starting to panic. Was told by start smart reps guy to give it a little more time. Currently have 3 giant danios and 5 zebra danios. Just want some opinions.

zof 09-16-2011 05:36 PM

If you have fish in there then you need to do some water changes, don't know what that stuff is but it might have some chemicals in there to help make the ammonia and nitrites safe but after some time they will wear off. Don't worry about removing bacteria since they live on the surface of things and not in the water, only thing you will be doing is removing some food from the bacteria but you will save your fish.

If you haven't already read through this post about cycling should answer some questions http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...m-cycle-38617/

BarbH 09-16-2011 05:47 PM

I would definitly carry out water changes. With the ammonia and nitrites that high I would not risk the health of my fish. In another thread that you posted on water parameters I shared my experience with using a similar type product, Tetra safestart. With this product from the company they say not to do water changes for two weeks. The first time I used this in my 50 gallon at the end of two weeks I was cycled but my ammonia, nitrites and nitrates were all high. The second time I used this product in setting up my 20 gallon convict tank I did water changes during the two week period. I still have some ammonia and nitrite readings, but no where near as high as my first experience, and my nitrates stayed at an acceptable level. Again the second time at the end of two weeks my tank was cycled. From my experience doing the water changes did not change how the product worked. The bacteria that we want in the aquarium is going to be on the substrate, glass and decorations, changing out the water will not remove the bacteria.

smit3183 09-16-2011 06:23 PM

confused..
 
from your post, you said your 50 gallon was cycled after 2 weeks but you still had ammonia and nitrites,how are you cycled if you have ammonia and nitrite readings

BarbH 09-16-2011 06:44 PM

Once I did the water changes it took out the ammonia, nitrites and extra nitrates that where in the water. Over two days I carried out several water changes, my first was a 30%, the next day I did 2 60%. After doing those changes my ammonia, and nitrites were at 0 and my nitrates went from 40 to 10. Other than a small ammonia reading that I had in the middle of August my ammonia and nitrites have been 0 and my nitrates have been at 20ppm and below. Had the tank not been cycled after having done those large water changes I would have continued to have readings on ammonia and nitrites.

Byron 09-17-2011 11:49 AM

In the other thread Barb referred to I answered at length on this; rather than repeat, here's the link so everyone is aware of what was said.

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...uestion-80676/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2