Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Seeding up a tank cycle (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/seeding-up-tank-cycle-80926/)

stevenjohn21 09-14-2011 12:48 AM

Seeding up a tank cycle
 
Im wanting to start up another 20 gallon long breeding tank for my Platys but im wanting to put the fish in within 24 hours if possible due to 4 of them being heavily pregnant.
If i take a couple of pots out from another tank will this suffice ? The filter im going to use has been running in an established tank for 24 hours so with that and the pots how long should i wait till i start this new tank ?

k19smith 09-14-2011 01:07 AM

You will still have a cycle with just the pots and a filter running for 24hrs. If you have filter media that has been running on the main tank I prefer 3 weeks to a month, add it to the new tank allow to run 12-24 hrs and you should have no problems. I've added fish into a tank like this with in 4 hrs but I like to be on the safe side.

stevenjohn21 09-14-2011 01:14 AM

I changed all the filter floss in my other tanks filters only 3 days ago so im guessing there is not enough good bacteria on them to do that. I wanted it to be bare bottom so i cant even transfer substrate Aaargghhh !!! guess i will have to wait :-(

k19smith 09-14-2011 01:28 AM

You can always get creative, take a women's panty hose cut off just above the foot fill it with your used substrate tie off, either toss it in the filter or hang up in the tank just somewhere it's getting water flow. Not very pretty but it will seed the tank and once that's done you can remove it in a few weeks.

AbbeysDad 09-14-2011 08:09 AM

+1 - Yep, a sack 'o gravel will "get 'er done".

stevenjohn21 09-14-2011 09:06 PM

I managed to use a filter cartridge from one of my friends filters. So that along with the pot i placed in the tank should be ok fingers crossed. I placed the 5 platys in the tank and all seems ok.

k19smith 09-14-2011 09:10 PM

I would not think you'll have any problems.

stevenjohn21 09-14-2011 09:13 PM

Great, thanks for the peace of mind.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2