Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   First Tank Setup (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/first-tank-setup-80854/)

Eraserhead 09-13-2011 11:52 AM

First Tank Setup

Hey guys I'm new to the hobby and am setting up my first tank now(slowly, buying a bit more each payday ha ha). Anyway I have a 10 gallon tank that I want to make a pygmy cory community and want to make sure that my plans will work for that. Would the following make for a successful tank or do you veterans see any glaring problems?

10 gal 20"L x 10"D x 12"H
Sand substrate
Rocks and a fake cave
Drift Wood
Fake plants*
6 pygmy corys
A few shrimp
Some kind of "focal point" fish, a betta or guppy maybe

*I'm considering live plants but have never had a green thumb.

BarbH 09-13-2011 12:00 PM

Hello and welcome to TFK :-D Sounds like you have a good plan. One of the things I would do is to check your water parameters to see what the hardness and the ph of your water is to make sure that it will be suitalbe for the corys. You can find out the hardness of your water from your local water people, most have this information available online. If you can not find the information online than I would suggest calling them to ask for the information. The ph can be found out from your test kit. I would recommend in investing in an API master test kit. This will allow you to be able to check for the levels of ammonia, nitrite and nitrates and ph in your tank. This is important when first setting up your tank, and also later on if you are experiencing problems.

As for the corys with a 10 gallon I believe that you could actually do a few more, in the profile it does say that they do better in a larger group.

tf1265 09-13-2011 12:19 PM

Hello!

Your tank sounds like my tank! I have a 10 gallon and cories are my favorite.