Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Is it really as hard as it seems??? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/really-hard-seems-80619/)

MiamiLeos 09-11-2011 12:59 AM

Is it really as hard as it seems???

So I've been researching up on saltwater reef aquariums and it's looking like fish and live rock are doable, but I would really love some coral, anemonies, etc invertibrates. From what I understand, without the inverts, I wouldnt need a skimmer or a sump, but with them I would need both. I am planning on a tank anywhere from 30gal to 40gal, as I'm not working with much space. The sump seems so complicated! And skimmers I've seen are really expensive. I'm a student so money is tight. I would get a used tank and stand from online probably. I have a 10gal tank sitting around that I could use for a sump with some modification, but I'm still not understanding all the specifications to this. :-(

Reefing Madness 09-11-2011 01:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MiamiLeos (Post 821296)
So I've been researching up on saltwater reef aquariums and it's looking like fish and live rock are doable, but I would really love some coral, anemonies, etc invertibrates. From what I understand, without the inverts, I wouldnt need a skimmer or a sump, but with them I would need both. I am planning on a tank anywhere from 30gal to 40gal, as I'm not working with much space. The sump seems so complicated! And skimmers I've seen are really expensive. I'm a student so money is tight. I would get a used tank and stand from online probably. I have a 10gal tank sitting around that I could use for a sump with some modification, but I'm still not understanding all the specifications to this. :-(