Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Help with aquarium plants (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/help-aquarium-plants-80291/)

Reneeashley 09-07-2011 01:03 PM

Help with aquarium plants

I recently switched my aquarium over to sand from gravel. We are waiting on fish but last week we added plants but now a few are dying. I have had aquarium plants before but i am thinking maybe it is my lighting. I am still very new to the plant world which is why i am waiting to add fish until i have the plants all under control. These are the plants that i have. Bonsai (rotala indica), Wisteria (Hygrophila Difformis), Banana Plant (Nymphoides aquatica):|

Jbrofish8 09-07-2011 01:07 PM

What lighting are you using? What spectrum if you have that.

The Rotala and the the wisteria both require moderate to high lighting.

Reneeashley 09-07-2011 01:15 PM

30" fluorescent aquarium reflector 120 volt 20 watt 60 hz

http://www.petco.com/product/7394/Aq..._HoodsLighting

Byron 09-07-2011 01:40 PM

You will not have good luck with Wisteria under that lighting. I have a 29g tank that is 30 inches in length with a single 24-inch tube (20w) and while I can grow low and moderate light plants, I would not even try Wisteria. I had Wisteria fall to pieces due to inadequate light in my 70g with two 4-foot tubes over it. Rotala indica being a stem plant also requires more lighting. The only stem plant that manages well with moderate light is Pennywort.