Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   confused by filters (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/confused-filters-80175/)

KendraMc 09-06-2011 09:35 AM

confused by filters

I'm rather new at this still, and am going through trying to get answers to whatever random questions i come up with, and from reading other posts on here, i've realized that there are a lot more kinds of filters than i realized. i have a Tetra Power Whisper, which if i understand correctly is a hang-on-back type filter. it is the filter that came with the tank kit i bought.

can someone please explain to me the different kinds of filters, the pros and cons of each, and what kinds of setups are best off with certain types?

(please define any abbreviations or acronyms please)

ladayen 09-06-2011 10:38 PM

Well, I'm not an expert but I'll start with what I know.

HOB ( Hang on Back) is standard with most kits. As you've mentioned it simply hangs on back and does it's thing. Pretty basic.

Sponge filter. To my understanding this is simply a hang on back with a sponge put over the intake to stop small fish and such getting sucked in.

Canister Filter. These usually go underneath the tank and you run tubes up to the tank. Generally used for larger tanks. (50g+)

Undergravel filter. As the name suggests these go under the gravel and push food and such upwards, generally used in conjunction with another filter. Not terribly popular anymore as they are not good with plants or bottom feeders.

Strand 09-06-2011 10:42 PM

Better thing to do would be list what tank you have and what you plan on doing with it. (Stocking it with)

Also if you will have live plants or not.

AbbeysDad 09-07-2011 09:30 AM