Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Epsom salt to help plants (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/epsom-salt-help-plants-79905/)

never quit 09-03-2011 11:58 AM

Epsom salt to help plants

Hi: I have a 41 gallon tank that I just added new plans to. One of the things recommended was "One teaspoon of Epsom salts per gallon once a month helps keep them green."
I want to get the experts opinion on this as I'm pretty new to this....So here's a couple of questions:

1. First off, what is your opinion? Good or bad? The water GH is 80 ppm

2. Are there species of fish that cannot tolerate this?

3. Should this addition be a standard practice or only every few months?

ANOTHER SUBJECT:

This tank was given to me, FREE...Really nice, stand, but the light is pretty poor....The tank measures 35" wide but the bulb inside the fixture is only 24"...And it's only 17 watts. It just says "Aquarium Lamp" on the bulb...So, since I can only get a 24" bulb, are there any recommendations for a bulb that would help put more light in the tank? Currently it looks like a crepuscular species tank!

Thanks for your help

Never Quit

PewPewPew 09-03-2011 07:39 PM

I've heard the same. Epsom is magnesium sulfate, which plants like.

If you dose ferts, just make sure you wont be adding excess amounts while dosing the epsom. Too much of a good thing? :P

kmiceray 09-04-2011 11:32 AM

Ive read several times on this forum not to use salt. However, at the aquarium shop I went to the other day the guy specifically said to use Epsom Salt. So, I am pretty confused on this as well. Sorry I am not much help :-(

never quit 09-04-2011 12:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PewPewPew (Post 811984)
I've heard the same. Epsom is magnesium sulfate, which plants like.