Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Tank troubles with ammonia and nitirites

2K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  BarbH 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi Forum,

I am new to the whole aquarium world. It has come along way since I was a child. Anyway, I recently purchased a 60 gallon tank and let the tank cycle for what I was told was a adequate amount of time. My wife and I purchased some fish and all seemed to be doing well. Suddenly, the ammonia and nitrites spiked and I can't get them to come down. I have heard and read a lot regarding water changes. The tank has a full compliment of fish and they seem to be doing well in-spite of the crazy levels. I would prefer not to loose the fish. Any advice would be great. Also, I made a huge mistake and changed the filter cartridges all at the same time. The water now is cloudy as heck and does not seem to want to clear.

John

#4 ·
Do the strips give you any sort of numbers? What did you do to cycle the tank? I'm pretty sure you tank is just cycling, water changes making sure the numbers don't get to high for your fish is my idea not knowing much else right now. How much water are you changing and how often? This is not my area of expertise. lol

#6 ·
ok, first there is no 'adequate time' to cycle a tank. A tank will be cycled when its cycled, you cannot possibly put a time on it.

If you can possibly rehouse the fish at a friends etc please do, having fish in a tank thats not cycled really isnt fair on them.

Best advice is throw the test strips in the bin, they are rubbish at indicating the correct levels, pick up an API master kit and you will be set.

You need to get a product like sechem prime to help control the ammonia and get the water changes happening, id be looking at 75-80% DAILY until your readings get better.

By removing all the cartridges you effected destroyed your cycle and started a new one.

Can i asked why you changed your cartridges and didnt clean them in old tank water?

#7 ·