Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Need some advice, a beginner to marine aquatics. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/need-some-advice-beginner-marine-aquatics-79706/)

JJ77 09-01-2011 04:19 PM

Need some advice, a beginner to marine aquatics.

How is everyone doing today? This is my first post and I hope I do not break any rules.

First thing first, I am a beginner to marine aquariums, I don't even have one yet. However, I am a freshwater hobbiest. I know they are totally different but I wanted to let everyone know I am avid about maintaining a well rounded aquarium.

Second, I know there are many types of set-ups regarding a marine aquarium. The one I want to do is just a simple live rock/ live sand/ fish set up, consisting of easy to take care of hardy fish.

I have a 30-35g tall bowfront aquarium. I know I will have to get fish that are capable for my smaller tank size (which is fine). So invertebrates, shrimp, clowns, firefish, etc are fine for the size. What my goal is to just have 3-5 fish, 2 shrimp/crab, and some type of smaller soft coral (for look purposes).

For now, I just want to post the equipment I tend to use and question about the equipment. For more in detail things as adding saltwater, ammonia/nitrates, bacteria, I can look up on this forum or other type of search.

Okay, equipment wise, I was looking into...

Fluval E Electronic Heater (200w)
AquaClear 70 Power Filter
Hydor Koralia Evolution 750 Aquarium Circulation Pump, 750 gph
Coralife Super Skimmer 65

Okay, questions for the equipment...