Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Silly question perhaps.. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/silly-question-perhaps-79702/)

Jbrofish8 09-01-2011 02:23 PM

Silly question perhaps..
 
Can Anubias grow on top of the substrate so long as the rhizome isn't buried? Id like to have a lot of anubias in my new tank but I don't want it covering all of my wood. Will this work?

tf1265 09-02-2011 07:27 AM

Tie it to small rocks. It doesn't have to be anything too large, but heavy enough to weigh it down and big enough that the roots can wrap around it. In my experience, it won't really just stay on top of the substrate, it will float to the top and move around and not stay still enough for the roots to grab onto anything. The first water change will send it to the surface.

Jbrofish8 09-02-2011 07:33 AM

I don't have any rocks, and I can use a plant weight to keep it down.

I have 1 piece of driftwood and I dont want to cover the entire piece with anubias. I know its best to put it on rocks/wood but CAN it grow on the substrate?

Byron 09-02-2011 10:43 AM

tf1265 answered the question, but to repeat, it needs something to hold it down until it is established. The fine roots off the rhizome will naturally grow down into the substrate, it is the rhizome that cannot be buried. I've not done this myself so I have no idea how long it takes or if the roots will eventually hold it on their own. But the simple solution is a very small piece of rock that is rough textured.

Byron.

Jbrofish8 09-02-2011 10:46 AM

I misread that, sorry. I didn't see the "little" rocks. Sorry about that. :-(

If I do attach it to a small rock, can I then bury the rock slightly so that it isn't seen or will this not work?

Byron 09-02-2011 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jbrofish8 (Post 809797)
I misread that, sorry. I didn't see the "little" rocks. Sorry about that. :-(

If I do attach it to a small rock, can I then bury the rock slightly so that it isn't seen or will this not work?

So long as the rhizome is above the substrate, fine.

zof 09-02-2011 02:41 PM

The roots of my 2 are buried, with about 1 inch between the substrate and the rhizome and they do ok.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2