Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Smallest HOB filter? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/smallest-hob-filter-79588/)

Robanada 08-31-2011 11:50 AM

Smallest HOB filter?

Hey guys, I built a 5 gal DIY tank for a specific application, and there is only a 4" space in the back for a HOB filter. The only filter I could find that would fit is the Red Sea Nano Filter. I've been building this tank for 2 years and between the time that I bought the Red Sea Nano Filter and the present, it has stopped working (which is odd, since I used it once to check that it worked, and then put it back in the box). So before buying another one so prone to failure, I thought I'd ask if any of you knew of any small(er) HOB filters?

The Red Sea Nano Filter was only recommended for 3gal tanks, whereas mine is a 5gal. I added a DIY sponge filter to supplement the HOB, but I have no idea what its filtering capacity is. Kind of OT, but any idea how to check the flowrate/capacity of that sponge filter?

BarbH 08-31-2011 12:06 PM

What are you going to be putting in the 5 gallon? More than likely you will be prefectly fine with a sponge filter. I have a diy sponge in my 5 gallon which I made from one of the filter replacements from the elite sponge filter, it is the smaller one that has a plastic box frame that sticks on to the glass. I made a hole into the sponge insert and placed my airline tubing into it. It has worked well for me.

Robanada 08-31-2011 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarbH (Post 807021)