Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Please help me re-design my tank.....again (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/please-help-me-re-design-my-79439/)

bigehugedome 08-29-2011 09:23 PM

Please help me re-design my tank.....again

Its hard to put my "questions" in words so please bare with me.

So after getting a large piece of driftwood and having alot of issues with it, i now realize what i should have realized before I bought it, its way to big. I really hate the look of my tank.

I have never had a big imagination, and im pretty bad at designing things, plus Im still new to planted tanks. So Im thinking,maybe you guys can give me some ideas. First here is the tank specs:

29 Gallon 30 1/4 x 12 1/2 x 18 3/4
1 T8 Life Glo Bulb at 6700k
Eco complete substrate
Cascade 700 canister filter
Stock list is in my sig

Plants I know of:
Dwarf lily
java fern
anacahris
wendts red
floating pennywort
and some large crypt

Below are two pics of the tank, the first is the original setup. Alot of plants did not grow in, and the issue was that the driftwood was too small and there was too much background showing, this made me want to have something larger. For some reason my amazon sword died. The wood is now in my 10 gallon, and i like it there. I could move it back but I don't really want to.

The second pic is how it is now. The wood is too large, and it creates too much darkness.

My goal is to have a nicely planted tank, i just need some help designing it. Its hard to put what I'm asking into words. Basically Im just wanna know how you guys design your tanks. I really don't like what I did so far, I was just happy because I was successful with the fish. I finally want a nicely planted tank but I don't know how to start.