Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   40g breeder filter help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/40g-breeder-filter-help-78676/)

Qcdan 08-21-2011 03:40 PM

40g breeder filter help

Hey guys,

I just got a new 40g which I want to setup for african cichlids. I am not a big fan of drilled tanks (none of my 2 other tanks are) so I was wondering which kind of filter would be best for this setup, since its my first time with cichlids. I was thinking maybe 2 filter, 1 would be an internal filter, and the other probably the Emperor bio-wheel. (280 or 400?). I am gonna add a good powerhead aswell.

Id like some suggestions before I start setting it up

Thanks !

1077 08-22-2011 12:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qcdan (Post 793174)
Hey guys,

I just got a new 40g which I want to setup for african cichlids. I am not a big fan of drilled tanks (none of my 2 other tanks are) so I was wondering which kind of filter would be best for this setup, since its my first time with cichlids. I was thinking maybe 2 filter, 1 would be an internal filter, and the other probably the Emperor bio-wheel. (280 or 400?). I am gonna add a good powerhead aswell.

Id like some suggestions before I start setting it up

Thanks !

I would look at the Aquaclear 110 or Emperor 400 for this tank.
Of the two,,I would lean towards the Aquaclear simply cause it's easier to service and a bit quieter.
Have used Emperor filter's for years as well, and they too are excellent filter's but a bit more tedious to service and filter media choices are a bit more limited .

Qcdan 08-22-2011 06:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1077 (Post 794047)
I would look at the Aquaclear 110 or Emperor 400 for this tank.