Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Another substrate question? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/another-substrate-question-77043/)

maysick1 08-04-2011 04:36 PM

Another substrate question?
 
I need to buy new substrate because sand is sturing up and getting on my plants. I herd flora max sucks and eco-complete is light and with current will cloud up the water. What should I do? Just put gravel over my sand with root tabs?

sik80 08-04-2011 05:14 PM

Plants will grow fine without enriched substrates like eco complete, so save money and get a small grain gravel and maybe use root tabs for heavy root feeders if you feel they need it. I personally don't like the look of 2 substrates mixed together but thats just my taste - if it was me I'd completely replace the sand with gravel

maysick1 08-04-2011 05:26 PM

Well my only option is petsmart and they don't have small gravel. Should I just go with eco-complete? I was worried the current of the filter would move it around to much.

Strand 08-04-2011 05:36 PM

Where did you read that flora max sucks?


I will be starting a 10g planted tank soon and that is what I was going to use.

maysick1 08-04-2011 05:43 PM

I shouldn't of said it sucks but it clouds a lot.

Strand 08-04-2011 05:45 PM

Hmmm... I guess it was cloudy at first. I have it in a 15 gallon.


I have a massive overkill powerhead in there right now that has taken all of the substrate off 1/3 of the tank and the water is crystal clear.

maysick1 08-04-2011 05:51 PM

so should I get flora max

Strand 08-04-2011 05:53 PM

I just took some pics:

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j1...8/IMAG0346.jpg

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j1...8/IMAG0348.jpg

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j1...8/IMAG0350.jpg


Currently cycling. When I first put the powerhead in there it got cloudy for a little while but everything is pretty settled now and the water is clear. Crappy pics and the glass is dirty... but you get the idea.

Strand 08-04-2011 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maysick1 (Post 766471)
so should I get flora max



I'll let Byron chime in. He rarely uses enriched substrate. (To my knowledge)


I was going to post a thread and have him design my 10g for me. Substrate, plants, everything. It's just going to be a ramshorn breeder tank, but it might as well look cool too.

maysick1 08-04-2011 06:44 PM

Well I chose flourite for my substrate hope it works good.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2