Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Powerhead for 20G Long? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/powerhead-20g-long-75967/)

dth011 07-24-2011 08:01 PM

Powerhead for 20G Long?

I'm in the process of upgrading from a 10G tank to a 20G long (30" long) tank, and I noticed after I got the filter running in the new tank that, since it's off to one side, that the water on the opposite side seems to not really be moving much at all. I was thinking getting a powerhead to help add a little circulation so I don't have a dead zone, but I have no previous experience with them, so I have no idea how strong/big of one I should get, or if I should even get one at all.

I'm not wanting to toss my fish around, just create a gentle push in the water to get it back around to the pump. I was originally thinking a small powerhead around 80gph or so, but I wasn't sure if that was too much or not enough.

Any thoughts?

leogtr 07-24-2011 11:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dth011 (Post 749308)
I'm in the process of upgrading from a 10G tank to a 20G long (30" long) tank, and I noticed after I got the filter running in the new tank that, since it's off to one side, that the water on the opposite side seems to not really be moving much at all. I was thinking getting a powerhead to help add a little circulation so I don't have a dead zone, but I have no previous experience with them, so I have no idea how strong/big of one I should get, or if I should even get one at all.

I'm not wanting to toss my fish around, just create a gentle push in the water to get it back around to the pump. I was originally thinking a small powerhead around 80gph or so, but I wasn't sure if that was too much or not enough.

Any thoughts?

hey there!