Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Brackish Water (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/brackish-water/)
-   -   can u cycle a new brackish with mature freshwater media? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/brackish-water/can-u-cycle-new-brackish-mature-75188/)

brackish1 07-15-2011 07:52 AM

can u cycle a new brackish with mature freshwater media?
 
well this is a first for me. I cycled a littled 7gallon tank over 6 weeks using pure ammonia, fish flake and the odd shrimp. Got the ammonia spike, then the nitrites were off the scale (may have been heavy handed lol) and then got the nitrates of 10ppm. Done job I thought. So I added my 3 bumblebee gobies plus as an extra measure I emptied out the contents of my mature Fluval cannister into the new set up and filled some of the new filter wth eheim pro strat that came out of the older tank. This tank should have been up and running, yet today I have nitrites of 5+ ? I dont get it :( Could it be because the new tak is brackish and the mature media and crud came from a freshwater?
Thanks

Christople 07-15-2011 09:34 AM

Yeah the bacteria from a fresh can't handle the salt and dies... I am not sure if the cycling process is different but if it isn't you might have to cycle it again

redchigh 07-15-2011 11:19 AM

You can.

Rinse the filter media from the freshwater tank into the new tank, filled with dechlorinated water WITHOUT the salt.

Feed the tank with fish food for a week (To colonise the filter, you need an ammonia source).

Then add 1/2 tsp of salt per gallon, with at least 8 hours between each dose. (While still feeding with fish food.)

When the salinity reaches the ideal level, do a water change and voila.
My thinking is that dosing salt to treat ich won't kill the bacteria as long as you do it gradually. I don't see a problem with cycling a tank that way.

Christople 07-15-2011 12:08 PM

okay my bad

cro117 07-15-2011 12:51 PM

when you say brackish, what exactly do you mean? bumblebees usually only need slightly brackish water of 0.005 or less i think, someone correct me on this please, which shouldn't crash your system i would think.

brackish1 07-15-2011 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cro117 (Post 736913)
when you say brackish, what exactly do you mean? bumblebees usually only need slightly brackish water of 0.005 or less i think, someone correct me on this please, which shouldn't crash your system i would think.

ive had BBG which were 'supposedly' freshwater fishm but over the years I have found that they do prefer a slight brackish water. I keep mine at 1.014 or under. I feel terrible. Ive never knowingly put any fish in an uncycled tank. They just look so fed up :(

brackish1 07-15-2011 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redchigh (Post 736834)
You can.

Rinse the filter media from the freshwater tank into the new tank, filled with dechlorinated water WITHOUT the salt.

Feed the tank with fish food for a week (To colonise the filter, you need an ammonia source).

Then add 1/2 tsp of salt per gallon, with at least 8 hours between each dose. (While still feeding with fish food.)

When the salinity reaches the ideal level, do a water change and voila.
My thinking is that dosing salt to treat ich won't kill the bacteria as long as you do it gradually. I don't see a problem with cycling a tank that way.

I did all of that but still have this ridiculous nitrite spike. As soon as I do a massive water change, it starts to creep back up. Im thinking the media from the mature tank (55gallon) was perhaps too much? Noo, theres no such thing as too much good bacteria. I dont know. Im scratching my head. On one hand I know I need to keep the water changes up for the health of the BBGs but on the other hand, the more water changes the longer it wil take to cycle the tank again.....:-(
ps I dont have ick. I am trying to stabilize a brackish tank

cro117 07-15-2011 02:22 PM

oh ya, that will defiantly do it, 0.014 is high on the brackish scale, you could actually put saltwater fish in there. i'm completely serious, we ran a fish only system in the store i used to work at with .012 for a while.

brackish1 07-15-2011 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cro117 (Post 736971)
oh ya, that will defiantly do it, 0.014 is high on the brackish scale, you could actually put saltwater fish in there. i'm completely serious, we ran a fish only system in the store i used to work at with .012 for a while.

ok, so given that the tank is a mere 7 gllons, how much salt should I be adding. My hrdrometer doesnt measure below 1.012, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

cro117 07-15-2011 02:25 PM

there is such a thing as too much good bacteria, but that's not your issue. right now you'd be better off using bacteria from an established saltwater tank probably. id say cut back the salinity to 1.005 or a hair lower and add more from your established tank.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2