Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hello everyone (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hello-everyone-75073/)

tjohnson722 07-13-2011 05:43 PM

Hello everyone

Hello everyone, my name is Taryn. Short history about myself first. I am a married mother of 2 girls. Madelyn 3 yrs and Astasia 18 months old. I am a Corrections Officer for 5 years. I currently own 2 dogs German Shepherd, Pitbull. I have 4 snakes: Ginger-Ball Python, Zeus-Hogg Island Boa, Shrek-Red Tail Boa, and un named baby Burmese Python. We did own 2 goldfish in a 35 gal hexagon aquarium but after short consideration got rid of those and now looking to start Freshwater tanks.

I did a little research before hand. Tried to figure out what I needed to start before buying fish (just like you have to do with reptiles). . I am using the 35 gal hexagon for living room and 10 gal for my daughters room. I have the hood, lights, filters, heaters, substrate currently in place. I bought an API master test kit. After testing both tanks with just the above in it I have a ph level at 7.6, No Ammonia or NO2 levels, and a 20ppm NO3 level. After reading a few things on here my questions are this:

1. Can I switch tanks in a few months to a larger tank if I decide to get larger fish? (reason for this is all my tanks except for 35 hex - 2-75 gallon, 1- 55 gallon, 1-30 gallon are currently occupied by snakes until we finish building custom houses).

2. I plan on getting neon for my daughters tank bc they are small and she likes the colors. But I plan on getting piranahs (2), african chichilids (4-6), and a frog becuase Jacks said they were all compatible. From experience I know Pet stores are not always correct so hopefully someone has some insight on compatibility.