Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Aerobic / Non Aerobic Bacteria (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/aerobic-non-aerobic-bacteria-74162/)

knox 07-03-2011 06:50 AM

Aerobic / Non Aerobic Bacteria

Newbie here, first post. Have been researching for a while now before starting my tank. I have a 20 Gallon long and an AquaClear 50 on the way. I do not plan to have live plants.

I understand that a lot of people do not use the Carbon, but instead use another sponge or more bio media. Which would you suggest?

My main question, though, is this. Are underwater bacteria enough? I suppose they are, since thousands of aquariums run happily on a HOB filter alone.

I am fairly adept at DIY, and was wondering if it would be beneficial or a waste to put together a small drip filter for my 20 gallon.

Thanks for your input. I am doing my best to understand the Nitrogen cycle as well as gather as much info as I can before I put the first drop of water in.

Barbman 07-03-2011 07:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knox (Post 721373)
Newbie here, first post. Have been researching for a while now before starting my tank. I have a 20 Gallon long and an AquaClear 50 on the way. I do not plan to have live plants.

I understand that a lot of people do not use the Carbon, but instead use another sponge or more bio media. Which would you suggest?

My main question, though, is this. Are underwater bacteria enough? I suppose they are, since thousands of aquariums run happily on a HOB filter alone.

I am fairly adept at DIY, and was wondering if it would be beneficial or a waste to put together a small drip filter for my 20 gallon.