Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Water Chemistry (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/)
-   -   nitrite question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/nitrite-question-74019/)

bigrift 07-01-2011 03:34 PM

nitrite question

im cureing 40 pounds of live rock in a 30g tub its been a week and my ammonia is now at 0 nitrite is threw the roof so isnt nitrate whitch is to be expected. my question is should i leave the water as is and let it do its thing till the nitrite drops to 0 or should i do the 100% water change and test again in a few days? btw this is my first time cureing lr so sorry for the stupid questions

Reefing Madness 07-01-2011 08:29 PM

Do a % water change like you would a normal tank.

Caligirl330 07-02-2011 03:23 PM

No question is a dumb question and you are smart for asking it! Just know that in the curing process you are bound to have nitrate or ammonia spikes eventually. I agree with Reef Madness about doing normal water changes and you could also try smelling the rock for a decay fishy smell (which could be the reason for the nitrate spike) and if it smells you could soak the rock in fresh RO/DI water to help rid some of the bacteria or parasites.

reefsahoy 07-02-2011 04:22 PM

It's part of the process. I recommend you wait until the readings are zero before doing the water change otherwise your tank will take longer to cycle. See graph below.
http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/n-cycle.gif

bigrift 07-02-2011 05:28 PM