Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   How Long Do I Leave Food In? Newbie Question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/how-long-do-i-leave-food-73904/)

Sakura8 06-30-2011 09:08 AM

How Long Do I Leave Food In? Newbie Question

Sorry for the total newb question but I just got my cory cats and they're in a quarantine tank. How long should I leave the wafers in the tank? Will they eat in the morning or only at night? They are five juvie pandas and none of them seem interested in eating this morning, shall I try at night? And how many wafers should I leave in? They will be fed Hikari Sinking Wafers and Hikari Algae Wafers unless someone has a better suggestion. Thanks!

Byron 06-30-2011 11:02 AM

Those are good foods, Hikari is a reputable brand. Eventually you may want to get a third or fourth food, variety is better, and Omega One is another good brand and they make sinking foods. Having one that is veggie-based is good, as you have; it helps fish's digestive tract. Corys also like the shrimp pellets, I believe Omega One make one of these. Just make sure they are the sinking foods.

Fish only need to be fed once daily, preferably shortly after the tank light comes on (give them time to "wake up" or adjust, maybe half an hour or a bit longer. Corys also are active during darkness, so they will eat then too. But the food can be added in the morning (= whenever the light comes on). But assuming these corys will eventually be in a tank with other fish, getting them used to the same routine is good.