Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/)
-   -   PLZ Help on a 20 gallon FOWLR (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish/plz-help-20-gallon-fowlr-73211/)

Stingray81 06-21-2011 04:25 PM

PLZ Help on a 20 gallon FOWLR

Hi,
I'm looking at setting up my first saltwater aquarium i have been doing a lot of research and i have decided i want to do a fowlr in a 20 gallon long tank I've had for awhile.I've had lots of experience with keeping fish in the past and am actually running a freshwater tank right now :-D. I have most of the supplies already, here are the things i already have:

-a heater
-salt mix
-ammonia,PH,nitrite,and nitrate test kits
-a BIG HOB tetra filter
-tank
-fluorescent light
-hydrometer
-crushed coral
-thermometer
- and I'm in the process of trying to find a protein skimmer

:| please tell me if theirs anything i need besides what i already have, and if you could help on how to do water changes and maintain the tank.

Thanks

Reefing Madness 06-26-2011 11:41 PM

At least 20 lbs of Live Rock, for natural filtration. For water changes, mix up the mix at least 24 hours before the change. you want to change 1/4 of the water every 2-3 weeks. Watch your Nitrates in a FOWLR, as these might creep up on you if your doing every 3 week changes, you may need to change it to every 2 weeks.

Caligirl330 07-02-2011 01:08 PM