Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   High Ammonia Levels With No Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/high-ammonia-levels-no-fish-72477/)

h2oIsaiah 06-11-2011 02:36 AM

High Ammonia Levels With No Fish
 
I have had my tank for a little over a week now with nothing in it except gravel, rocks, and a few fake plants. All the levels test perfect except the ammonia. It has measured high and in the 1.0 range twice. Any reason why this would be and how do I correct it?

Romad 06-11-2011 10:54 AM

Hello and welcome to TFK.

You shouldn't have ammonia present without a source. Did you use gravel from a previous tank setup? Have you used anything to start the cycle like the bottled bacteria, pure ammonia, fish food?

I'd check your tap water for ammonia to start with.

h2oIsaiah 06-11-2011 11:17 AM

I used brand new gravel in the tank as well as a bacteria supplement. I'll check the tap water. Will this harm fish?

BarbH 06-11-2011 12:04 PM

Which bacteria supplement did you use? When I used Tetra Safe Start, from information that I found online about the product it says that there will be ammonia in the tank because from what they claim it is what the bacteria needs to live on while it is establishing the benificial bacteria in your tank.

Romad 06-11-2011 12:12 PM

Yes, ammonia will harm your fish. You should wait until your tank is cycled to add fish or if you're going with a fish in cycle, you'll need a hardy type fish and frequent small water changes with a good water conditioner added like Seachem Prime.

What size tank do you have? If you haven't read this thread yet, here's a great guide on cycling.

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...m-cycle-38617/

h2oIsaiah 06-11-2011 01:00 PM

I think it was topfin bacteria starter. I also used the water conditioner as well. It's a 35 gallon tank.
Posted via Mobile Device

kalae 06-20-2011 07:19 AM

the same happened with my first tank. i got some hardy fish (which you should allways start with) and one dose of ammonia fixer and it went straight down


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2