Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   using two filters on one tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/using-two-filters-one-tank-72285/)

Blackheart 06-08-2011 06:52 AM

using two filters on one tank?
 
Is it possible to keep a tank even cleaner by using two hang on the back filters? I had been looking to setup my 20 gallon tall and had wanted to possibly try my penguin 100 filter, along with the standard aquatech 15 filter.
Posted via Mobile Device

Pufferfish22 06-08-2011 10:38 AM

Hi I run 2 filters, a big fluval and a smaller stingray. Iniaitally it was because the fluval was new and I wanted to seed it from the stingray, but in the end I left both there and my water is lovely and clear. I also think if one ever goes down at least I've got another in there and wouldn't have to recycle the tank when putting a replacement filter in. I asked the same question here, and was told you can under filtrate a tank but never over filtrate.

redchigh 06-08-2011 10:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pufferfish22 (Post 695501)
Hi I run 2 filters, a big fluval and a smaller stingray. Iniaitally it was because the fluval was new and I wanted to seed it from the stingray, but in the end I left both there and my water is lovely and clear. I also think if one ever goes down at least I've got another in there and wouldn't have to recycle the tank when putting a replacement filter in. I asked the same question here, and was told you can under filtrate a tank but never over filtrate.

That's true. Just make sure there's not too much current if you are keeping forest fish.

LasColinasCichlids 06-08-2011 11:10 AM

I too run 2 filters on one of my tanks. On my 29g tank I originally only had a Marineland Penguin 150 running, but realized it just wasnt enough filtration for the the tank size, so I bought an AquaClear 50...originally was just going to keep the Marineland on until the new filter could take over and I wouldnt have to worry about a re-cycle... but ended up just leaving both on the tank. With multiple filters, I do recommend putting on a homemade diffuser unless you have fish that prefer or require a heavy current.

Now, having a planted tank also helps with water chemistry, but not with particles and clearity if that is what you are looking to improve.

However, multiple filters arent needed if you have a filter that can do its job or is much higher gph power than what is needed for the tank size you have. For instance using a 50g filter on a 30g tank.

Good Luck!

AbbeysDad 06-09-2011 12:03 PM

I have two HOBs on my 60g. Right now one is an AC70 and the other is a lowly Aqua-Tech 5-15, which will soon be replaced with another AC70. I use a simple cut water bottle baffle to direct the return flow across the back wall of the tank and it works great!

Why two HOBs? Several reasons:

> I have the bio-filtration capacity of a canister at less cost.
> The HOBs are easier to service - I can pull the filtration media without even turning it off.
> I could totally clean one with little interruption in bio-filtration.
> There is redundancy if one should ever fail for any reason.

I have a theory about filtration [sand box coming].
We are told that for larger tanks we need more GPM water flow, when in reality, we don't need to move more water faster....we need to filter water better. These fast flow rates are only possible because water streams through these filters at fast rates. I personally think we should slow the water down and use finer filtration media. Also, I think we should let debris settle on the bottom where it will be utilized by plants or removed though weekly gravel siphoning so our filters only capture the suspended organic matter.
We want to keep the mulm sludge out of our filters.
[end sand box]

... so, two filters operating at slower flow rates with finer media is much better than one filter at higher flow rates with coarser filtration media.... and don't forget those 1/4 to 1/2 weekly water changes.

It's all about FRESH water quality!

Beaches 06-09-2011 07:33 PM

Here is an old thread on the same subject, you may find helpful....

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...-1-tank-27463/

I also use 2 filters on my tanks, one reason as already mentioned by Pufferfish....in case one stops working you have a backup one (unless both stop working at the same time UGG!), another reason is it can be handy in case you need to setup a QT qucikly, you can just transfer the media from one filter over to the QT filter.

I agree that you can never have too much filtration.....but you can have too much water flow! I like to use filters that have a flow control knob so you can regulate the flow if need be.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2