Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   NEW To PLECO'S (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/new-plecos-71955/)

jeppun21 06-03-2011 01:48 PM

NEW To PLECO'S

So im new to owning a Clown pleco and was wondering do clown plecos or plecos in general have a large bio load?

Thanks
Jep

ElectricBlueJackDempsey 06-03-2011 03:14 PM

Yes, plecos are notorious for having a very large bio load. With a clown pleco, you should have much problems because they stay small.

jeppun21 06-03-2011 03:21 PM

Oh ok.. cause i feed my clown pleco algea wafers and shrimp pellets.. and wow is der a lot of black string of stool everywhere...lol but it isnt bad...

Thanks jep

SeaHorse 06-03-2011 03:30 PM

Pleco's and Goldfish are the biggest poopers. Yes big bio load and that dictates how many fish you can put in your tank.
They also like it when you boil/blanch zucinni and broccoli and after cooling it, drop it in the tank. yummy veggies. Which means mine eats all of the live plaints I try to put in the tank... even the floating ones, she swam upside down on the surface to steal those too!! (I was told the females have less wiskers, mine has none)

jeppun21 06-03-2011 03:52 PM

what would u thnk an alternative bottom feeder would be with less bio load.. a whiptail catfish or oto?

SeaHorse 06-03-2011 05:00 PM

I've only ever had one Pleco in the tank. I love my Cory's. I've heard that Otto's are hard to raise/keep alive. Algae eater or large snail? I have one snail in my 10 gallon Betta tank and man can that little thing clean up!!

Byron 06-03-2011 06:01 PM