Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Females Giving Birth Then Sudden Deformity (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/females-giving-birth-then-sudden-deformity-71722/)

MsNaFew 05-31-2011 01:30 PM

Females Giving Birth Then Sudden Deformity

Ok, I admit it. I'm a noob. Learned from my past mistakes and have a (knock wood) thriving ten gal full of healthy fry. Other in the 20 gal, after the mom's have had a well deserved rest, they are placed back within the female community until ready to be bred.

So. 3 females, same problem, and I'm scratching my head on it, honestly puzzled. 3 females gave birth at the same time in the ten gal, having been acclimated a week prior to ensure no stress, delivered fine and now both appear as though they got smashed in a door frame!

Think bent into almost a U shape. Still, eating and swimming (or trying to) they remain either upside down, resting on the plants or on the bottom though, again, no disease apparent, water parameters religiously monitored and well within the normal to optimal category, so what the heck did I do to them?!

Diet consists of Guppy Veggie Flakes, frz Brine Shrimp, Livebearer Protein Flakes and the occasional freeze dried bloodworm. Fry aren't deformed and neither were they until after delivery. And I didn't smash 'em in the door frame! LOL but....HELP?!

bettababy 06-02-2011 12:38 AM