Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Sand (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/sand-7134/)

cullens089 07-26-2007 02:46 PM

Sand
 
i want to use sand in my tank. i have 2 Penguin BIO-Wheel 350 Power Filters. is it ok to use sand with them? i heard that its not a good idea to use sand as it can break the wheel. so i was wonderin can i use sand and if so what kind of sand.

mcdanielnc89 07-26-2007 03:44 PM

i would say go for it.. I use sand in all my tanks and have with this filter..

cullens089 07-26-2007 03:45 PM

ok do i use just play sand er stuff from my lfs

mHeinitz57 07-26-2007 05:59 PM

i've heard play sand or silica sand is fine for aquariums. It will be fine with the Penguin 350 as well.

cullens089 07-26-2007 07:15 PM

ok im goin to run out to get sum play sand so i can finish settin my tank up :D

GW 07-26-2007 08:12 PM

You can also use Pool Filter Sand in Freshwater tanks as well...just make sure you rinse any sand you get until the water runs clear.
Just remember that if you use any copper med's the sand may leach these back into the water.
Also make sure that when you Vacuam you clean as much of it as possible and stir the rest up with your hand to keep pockets of gas from building up in the sand.
I'm running Pool Filter Sand in my 29g and10g without any problems but I spent hours rinsing that much sand to get all the "Chafe" or fine dust out of it first.

fish_4_all 07-26-2007 08:47 PM

Go for it, I know many fish keepers that use sand and use many different filters including powerheads, canisters and HOB filters of all types.

As for stirring the sand, find someone who has some Malaysian Trumpet Snails and get some. They will stir the sand and prevent dead spots from forming that can kill your fish suddenly.

cullens089 07-26-2007 09:06 PM

ok i just got 100 ponds of sand. do you think this is enough for my tank or do i need more?

mcdanielnc89 07-26-2007 10:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cullens089
ok i just got 100 ponds of sand. do you think this is enough for my tank or do i need more?

How big is ur tank? you sould have i pound of sand per gallon...

assualt911 07-26-2007 11:39 PM

lol lets hope he didnt get to much. i wanna see the results when finished. but just play with the sand (not literally) like how much should be put in. if you dont have enough then get more, if you have to much then take some out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2