Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tank-71254/)

Haddix 05-25-2011 09:14 AM

New Tank

Never have had a tank this big Need some help on it. I have a 125 gal tank that I would like to start it off right. I would like to know if a FX5 is going to do a good job by its self. or do I need a HOB filter with it. I am not very good with plants and I would like this to be a planted tank. Do I need a CO2 system and what is the best substrate for plants. And what type of LIghts so the plants will grow. Never had any fish but Gourami. I would like to but my Snakeskin Gourami In this tank. They grow up to about 8" What type of fish would go good with them. Thanks for any help

AbbeysDad 05-25-2011 11:05 AM

Suggest you go into the plant forum and weed through (I'm so punny) Byron's stickies on plants - tons of good stuff there.
I'm just recently back into the hobby and right now my plastic plants are doing great! :smile:

excal88 05-25-2011 12:34 PM