Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Danios or Tetras and Betta? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/danios-tetras-betta-6998/)

kg2413 07-11-2007 01:51 AM

Danios or Tetras and Betta?

I am setting up a tank and have a ten gallon aquarium that I want to get a betta for. I would also really like to get some other community fish to go with it. Im fairly new to fish so I was looking into black neon tetras or neon tetras. Also I was looking into zebra danios until i found out that they might nip at bettas fins. However I also found info that says zebra danios and a betta can live fine together. Can someone please clear this up for me?

Lupin 07-11-2007 02:10 AM

Re: Danios or Tetras and Betta?

Quote:

Originally Posted by kg2413
I am setting up a tank and have a ten gallon aquarium that I want to get a betta for. I would also really like to get some other community fish to go with it. Im fairly new to fish so I was looking into black neon tetras or neon tetras. Also I was looking into zebra danios until i found out that they might nip at bettas fins. However I also found info that says zebra danios and a betta can live fine together. Can someone please clear this up for me?

Welcome to Fishforum.com, Kg.:wave:

I wouldn't suggest danios for a ten gallons. They need a lot of swimming space and a ten gallons won't have sufficient swimming space they needed. Tetras and a betta however will be okay. I wouldn't add fish for awhile until your tank is cycled.

mcdanielnc89 07-11-2007 07:47 AM

As stated above u can add fish with your betta but dependin on the betta's personality will it work.. Sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't...

leifthebunny 07-11-2007 09:52 AM

Keeping some of the faster moving fish would help as well. :)